Category

Exhibtions

IRRMITATION

By | Exhibtions | No Comments
Solo Exhibition
06. – 20. May 2017
Cologne, DE

 

In the context of this year’s Sommerblut Festival I got invited by tanzfaktur to present an solo exhibition with my works in Cologne. It turned out to be four old works of mine, of which I adapted two to the new location.

At the time of the exhibition the tanzfaktur has been a place of becoming: After a long period of reconstructing the location revealed itself in new size and beautiful industrial aesthetic: Freshly painted plasterboard drywall installation on top of the broken concrete floor, puristic pallet interior, improvised bar and sitting possibilities inside an old storage hall.

 

012

 

012

 

012

 

Using the left-overs of the construction I built another room in the foyer of tanzfaktur, framing a neon light on the ceiling. It became part of the adaptation of my work „Mimikry“: The light switched on and off randomly, I filmed it frontally from the bottom and projected a fullsize version of it on the floor.

 

012

 

012


On the stage I installed my work „Chairway to Heaven“: Seven chairs stood next to each other, creating a sequence of movement of the chair. In short intervals they got illuminated after another, creating the illusion of movement. The stage was seated with 60 chairs, of which I used 7 for the installation. So 54 chairs in the audience were watching the „performance“ of 7 on stage.

 
Furthermore I exhibited „Verschleißerscheinung“ („sign of wear“) and my 2-channel-videoinstallation „Let Go“ with Meret Mundwiler in the major role.

 

012

 

012


This project, named „Irrmitation“ was curated and initiated by Kai Kullen and Adrián Castello. I’d like to thank them for the invitation. The project also included a performance choreographed by Adrián Castello, which was presented on May 14th.

I also would like to thank Slava Gepner, Lukas Medzech, Karl Werner Maria Meyer and most notably my brother Thomas Zerbst, who was a enormous help at the setup of the exhibition.
 

 

 

 

 

Misunderstandings

By | Exhibtions | No Comments
SOLO EXHIBITION
10. – 16. January 2017
Hanoi, VN

 

‚Misunderstandings’ was an solo exhibition that reflected critically about how a producer of cultural contributions that claim to be relevant is able to work in a foreign culture. Lukas Zerbst made his situation his subject and divested it in four works.


012

Among the sound-wise most opulent installation „Ghostriders“, the movie „Speech Bubble“, the Video-Loop „Towards New Adventures“, as well as a documentation of his site-specific installation „Selfie“ were exhibited.
 
With this solo exhibition Lukas finished his stay in Vietnam in January 2017, where he lived and worked for five months.
 
Lukas likes to say Thank you to Claire Discoll and Doriab Gibb for the art space, as well as Fabiola Büchele for a good cooperation and interesting chats. Furthermore a special Thank you is dedicated to Bui Kim Dinh for her outstanding support.

 

 

 

002010003

Category

Ausstellungen

IRRMITATION

By | Ausstellungen | No Comments
Einzelausstellung
06. – 20. Mai 2017
Köln, DE

 

Im Rahmen des Sommerblut! Festival 2017 lud mich die tanzfaktur nach Köln ein, dort eine Einzelausstellung mit meinen Arbeiten zu zeigen. Es wurden vier alte Arbeiten, teilweise für den neuen Kontext adaptiert.

Zum Zeitpunkt der Ausstellung war die tanzfaktur ein Ort des Werdens: Nach lang andauernden Umbauten zeigte sie sich in neuer Größe und von schöner industrie-ästhetischer Seite: Frisch gestrichener Rigips-Trockenbau auf dem Gesprungenem Betonboden der ehemaligen Lagerhalle, Farbmarkierungen auf dem Boden, puristisches Paletten-Interieur, provisorische Bar, improvisierte Sitzmöglichkeiten.

 

012

 

012

 

012

 

Aus den überschüssigen Materialien der Baumaßnehmen, konstruierte ich einen zusätzlichen Raum und umrahmte damit eine der dort an der Decke angebrachten Neonlampen. Diese wurde Teil der Adaption meiner Arbeit „Mimikry“: Die Lampe leuchtete scheinbar beliebig auf, wurde von frontal unten abgefilmt und in gleicher Größe auf den Boden projiziert.

 

012

 

012


Auf der großen Bühne installierte ich „Chairway to Heaven“: Sieben Stühle die nebeneinander standen und als Sequenz eine halbe Umdrehung des Stuhls darstellten wurden in kurzen Intervallen nacheinander angeleuchtet und erzeugten so die Bewegung eines Stuhls durch den Raum. Der Raum war mit 60 Plätzen bestuhlt, von denen ich sieben für die Installation entfernte und auf der Bühne platzierte.

 
Des weiteren zeigte ich „Verschleißerscheinung“ und meine 2-Kanal-Videoinstallation „Laufen lassen“ mit Meret Mundwiler in der Hauptrolle.
 

012

 

012


Dieses unter dem Namen „Irrmitation“ gezeigte Projekt wurde kuratiert und initiiert von Kai Kullen und Adrián Castello, denen ich herzlich für die Einladung danke. „Irrmitation“ beinhaltete außerdem eine Performance von Adrian Castello, die am 14. Mai 2017 uraufgeführt wurde.

Ich danke außerdem Slava Gepner, Lukas Medzech, Karl Werner Maria Meyer und ganz besonders meinem Bruder Thomas Zerbst, der mir eine erhebliche Hilfe beim Aufbau war.

 

 

 

 

 

MISUNDERSTANDINGS

By | Ausstellungen | No Comments
Einzelausstellung
10. – 16. Januar 2017
Hanoi, VN

 

‚Misunderstandings‘ war eine Ausstellung die sich zum Thema machte kritisch darüber zu reflektieren, inwiefern ein kulturschaffender Mensch in der Lage ist dem Anspruch an Relevanz seiner Beiträge innerhalb einer fremden Kultur nachzukommen. Lukas Zerbst machte damit seine damalige Situation zum Thema und veräußerte dies in vier Arbeiten.


012

Neben der vor allem auf Klangebene opulentesten Installation „Ghostriders“ waren der Film „Sprechblase“, der Video-Loop „Towards new Adventures“, sowie eine Dokumentation seiner raumspezifischen Installation „Selfie“ zu sehen.
 
Mit dieser Ausstellung beendete Lukas im Januar 2017 seinen Aufenthalt in Vietnam, nachdem er dort fünf Monate lebte und arbeitete.
Großer Dank gilt an dieser Stelle Claire Driscoll und Dorian Gibb für ihre Räumlichkeiten, sowie Fabiola Büchele für die gute Zusammenarbeit und viele schöne Gespräche. Außerdem sei ganz besonders Bui Kim Dinh für ihre herausragende Unterstützung gedankt.

 

 

 

002010003