Created for the solo exhibition »LEAKS« in Kloster Bentlage in Rheine, DE this light installation consists of three motorized theater spotlights that are positioned in three individual windows to shine towards the patio of the former monastery. The movement and light intensity are generated by random algorithms.

In »Rear Windows« silhouettes of the window frames behind which the spotlights move are projected inside the inner court – Similar to a giant Laterna Magica. From there, viewers are confronted with the sneaky investigation of the yard by the light. Viewers become protagonists involuntarily by being put in the spotlight – Are the lamps therefore rather a threat? Like search lights of a surveillance system?

However, the light in »Rear Windows« is an expression of being observed, which emanates in the window itself. The windows are the origin of the idea of being observed, a condition of the possibility of being observed. The reference to Hitchcocks movie raises motifs of suspense or might be reminiscent of the film’s Sujet: Are viewers the ones obeserving or the ones who are obeserved? What stories come up about ourselves in this short involuntarily act in the spotlight, our short solo moment in the theater of the world?

VIDEO

Die für die Einzelausstellung »LEAKS« im Kloster Bentlage, Rheine konzipierte Lichtinstallation besteht aus drei motorgesteuerten Theater-Spotlights, die jeweils durch ein Fenster im Obergeschoss in den Innenhof des ehemaligen Klosters scheinen. Die Bewegungen und die Leuchtstärke der Scheinwerfer werden per Zufallsalgorithmen generiert.

»Fenster zum Hof« kann durchaus als Appell verstanden werden: Einer übergroßen Laterna Magica gleich projizieren die Scheinwerfer die Silhouetten der Fensterkreuze auf Oberflächen im Innenhof. Von dort aus sind Zuschauer*Innen der schleichenden Erkundung des Innenhofs durch die Scheinwerfer ausgesetzt. Sie selbst geraten gelegentlich ins „Spotlight“, werden dadurch zu unfreiwilligen Protagonist*Innen. Sind es daher vielleicht eher Suchscheinwerfer auf einer gezielten Suche von denen eine Bedrohung ausgeht? Gleich einem Überwachungssystem?

Das Licht ist Ausdruck der Idee beobachtet zu werden, die aber eigentlich bereits dem Fenster selbst entspringt. Das Fenster ist der Idee Ursprung beobachtet zu werden, Bedingung dieser Möglichkeit. Eine Anspielung auf Hitchcocks Film lässt Motive des Suspense auferwecken oder erinnert konkret an des Films Sujet: Sind die Zuschauer*Innen die Beobachtenden oder die Beobachteten? Welche Geschichte spinnt sich um unseren kurzen unfreiwilligen öffentlichen Auftritt im Spotlight, unseren kurzen Solo-Moment im Theater der Welt?

VIDEO