Wendetreppe Foto von Rüdiger Lubricht

Photo: Rüdiger Lubricht

VIDEO

A winding staircase that is part of the interior of the museum, bends itself towards the space thanks to an extended middle tube. Steel profiles point out of the wall, that used to hold the pedestal to which the staircase led and which allowed access to a door at the upper half of the room. This pedestal is now leaning at a pillar in the center of the space.

This “rewinding staircase” takes a rather invisible functional object and transforms it to a sculpture that raises itself above the viewers heads. When the staircase is decoupled from its original purpose, it grows towards the space. A helix appears that cuts through space. The stair elements move like rotor blades at descent towards the middle of the exhibition space. The flight path, which the “propellers” mark, might be an uncontrollable crash, as well as a conscious attack against the museum.

Likewise the staircase might have been pushed to the ground by the weight of the pedestal.

The “rewinding staircase” is also the narrative of a component of the museum that tries to flee, but inevitably remains component of the museum. A Ouroboros made of elements of the museum interior. The museum that is frugal to itself, yet loses one of its element by visualising this matter.

Photo: Rüdiger Lubricht

VIDEO

Foto: Rüdiger Lubricht

VIDEO

Eine zum Interieur des Ausstellungsraumes gehörende Spindeltreppe neigt sich durch ein erweitertes Mittelrohr in den Raum hinein. Aus der Wand ragen Stahlprofile, die einst das Podest trugen, an dem die Treppe endete und über welches Zugang zu einer im oberen Raumbereich liegenden Öffnung ermöglicht wurde. Dieses Podest ragt nun weit in den Raum hinein und lehnt an einer Säule.

Die “Wendetreppe” macht aus einem unsichtbaren Nutzgegenstand eine sich über die Besucher\*innen emporhebende Skulptur. Die Entkopplung von ihrem Zwecke lässt die Treppe in den Raum hineinwachsen; Es entsteht eine quer durch den Ausstellungsort schneidende Helix. Wie Rotorblätter bewegen sich die Treppenstufen propellerartig im Sinkflug in Richtung Raummitte. Die in der Sequenz der Treppenstufen angedeutete “Flugbahn“ könnte ebenso unkontrollierter Absturz wie bewusstes Angriffsmanöver gegen das Museum sein.

Ebenso könnte die Treppe aber auch unter der Last des von der Wand gelösten Podestes zu Boden gedrückt werden.

Die Wendetreppe ist auch das Narrativ eines Museumsbestandteiles, dass entfliehen möchte, doch unweigerlich immer Bestandteil bleibt. Ein Ouroboros aus den Elementen des Museumsinterieurs. Das Museum das sich selbst genügsam ist, doch mit dem Ausdruck dessen einen Nutzgegenstand verliert.

Foto: Rüdiger Lubricht

VIDEO